The board is responsible for the overall conduct of the group’s business and has the powers, authorities and duties vested in it by, and pursuant to, the relevant laws of England and Wales and the Articles of Association of the company.

The board:

  • has final responsibility for the management, direction and performance of our businesses;
  • is required to exercise objective judgement on all corporate matters independent from executive management;
  • is accountable to shareholders for the proper conduct of the business; and
  • is responsible for ensuring the effectiveness of and reporting on our system of corporate governance

The board meets at least eight times a year and the meetings are structured to allow open discussion.

Gerard Kleisterlee, chairman of Vodafone Group Plc

Gerard Kleisterlee


Board committees: Nominations and Governance Committee

Gerard Kleisterlee became chairman of Vodafone Group Plc on 26 July 2011 at the conclusion of the AGM, having previously served as a non-executive member of the Board.

He retired as president/chief executive officer and chairman of the Board of Management and the Group Management Committee of Koninklijke Philips Electronics N.V. (‘Philips’) on 31 March 2011 after a career with Philips spanning three decades.

He has been a non-executive director of the Supervisory Board and member of the Audit Committee of Royal Dutch Shell since November 2010, and was previously a member of the Board of Directors of Dell Inc., resigning in October 2013 and also previously a member of the Daimler AG Supervisory Board, resigning on 9 April 2014.

Vittorio Colao, chief executive of Vodafone Group Plc

Vittorio Colao

Chief executive

Board director since 9 October 2006 and appointed Chief Executive on 29 July 2008.

Vittorio Colao was appointed chief executive of Vodafone Group Plc after the AGM on 29 July 2008. He joined the Board in October 2006 as chief executive, Europe and deputy chief executive.

The early part of his career was spent in the Milan office of McKinsey & Company working on media, telecommunications and industrial goods, with additional responsibility for recruitment. In 1996 he joined Omnitel Pronto Italia, which subsequently became Vodafone Italy, and he was appointed chief executive in 1999.

He was then appointed regional chief executive officer, Southern Europe for Vodafone Group Plc in 2001, became a member of the Board in 2002 and was appointed to the role of regional chief executive officer for Southern Europe, Middle East and Africa for Vodafone in 2003.

In 2004 he left Vodafone to join RCS MediaGroup, the leading Italian publishing company, where he was chief executive until he rejoined Vodafone as CEO, Europe. He sits on the International Advisory Board of Bocconi University, Italy and is a Member of the Steering Committee of the European Round Table of Industrialists.

Nick Read, Vodafone Group chief financial officer

Nick Read

Chief financial officer

Nick Read, chief financial officer, was appointed group chief financial officer and a member of the Vodafone Group Plc board on 1 April 2014.

Since joining Vodafone in 2001, Nick has held a variety of senior roles including CFO, CCO and CEO of Vodafone Ltd, the UK operating company. In his role immediately prior to group CFO, he was the Regional CEO for Africa, Middle East and Asia Pacific for five years and was a board member of the listed companies of Vodacom, Safaricom, and Vodafone Qatar, our subsidiaries in India and Egypt, and our joint ventures, VHA in Australia and Indus Towers in India.

Prior to joining Vodafone, he held senior global finance positions with United Business Media Plc and Federal Express Worldwide.

Nick is a fellow chartered management accountant and a chartered global management accountant, with a BA (Hons) in Accounting and Finance.

The board

Find out about the other members of the Vodafone Group's board.

  • Sir Crispin Davis
  • Dr Mathias Döpfner
  • Dame Clara Furse DBE
  • Val Gooding
  • Renée James, Vodafone non-executive director
  • Samuel Jonah, non-executive director
  • Nick Land, non-executive director
  • Philip Yea